and subsequently at two weeks interval in order to beat the deadline we had set for the publication of Bioscience Research Communications by June 30, 1989. The group was expanded on June 5, 1989 when Dr. F. A. Oladele, Dr. T. S. Emudianughe and Dr. A. O. Olukoga joined. It was further expanded to 19 members at an extraordinary meeting held on December 12, 1994.


The metamorphosis to NISEB took place on June 6, 2000, when we took the first step to make the society a truly national body. That was when Professor Clement Bewaji became the President by an interim type of arrangement which was later ratified at the first biennial meeting of the Society held at Kwara Hotel, Ilorin, in September 2000.


From the blueprint, NISEB has been designed to be a six-storey building, each floor representing 1,000 members. The technological development of a nation is in the hands of its scientists and scientific societies. There is the Royal Society of Great Britain and there was a Linnean Society before it. There are several such societies on the scientific landscape of Great Britain. The United States of America also has its own American Society for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB), the National Academy of Sciences, the New York Academy of Sciences, to mention just a few. There are also several societies on the Nigerian scientific landscape. The strength and commitment of these societies will determine how technologically strong Nigeria will be.

Website Created & Hosted with Doteasy Web Hosting Canada